Instagram, Life, Soul

Looking At The World Through The Eyes of Another

How we view the world, depends upon what type of lens we experience it through


Capturing images can be used as a unique way to express how we see the world, or how we think the world should be viewed. Highlighting aspects of the human condition, the relationship between society and our environment, people doing amazing things; we as creatives strive to showcase life in creative ways through photography and videos.

Not surprisingly, my first camera that I could call my own was the original GoPro Hero, which I used to take selfies while fishing and record low quality ski edits. I enjoyed messing around with these pictures in free editing software, and my lack of ability was apparent. I would blow out the saturation and leave the pictures pixelated, among other things.

Looking back on my photos from when I first started taking them makes me laugh. I thought I was taking high quality pictures, but actually I was using a potato camera and over-processing my pictures. Everyone has to start somewhere though, and the first GoPro was the first brick in my photography foundation.

Wind River Canyon, when I first started to pick up a camera. Shit quality and horrible editing.

Honing my photography and videography skills has been a process. I upgraded cameras to a GoPro 3+, a Canon Rebel T5, and a Google Pixel phone. Recently, I bought a flexible tripod to use for long exposure shots and time-lapse videos. I feel like I am just scratching the surface of what is possible with the cameras that I now have.

Exploring other photographers on the internet helps give me inspiration, ideas, and tips about how I can grow as a producer and content creator. Most often when I send a direct message on Instagram to a photographer, they message back within that day to answer my questions or give little snippets of advice, which I find very helpful.

Technology of today has allowed the sharing of incredible photos everyday via platforms such as Instagram and Facebook. These networks have allowed humans to see potentially anywhere in the world by simply clicking a location or hashtag. I believe this is the closest thing humans have invented to a teleporter! If you imagine yourself taking that same picture, on your own phone, and squint your eyes enough then you can take your mind anywhere around the globe.

Teleportation in the current era

Connectivity has ignited a global revolution, to save the very places that we live and play. The previous generations had no virtually clue what existed in the world before the internet, besides what they saw in person or the news, movies, and TV. Now that humans have the potential to realize what exists in the world, and how humans are destroying it via globalization, people are more motivated than ever to travel and take pictures to share online. Helping highlight exotic locations around the globe, to spark some feeling within people looking at that destination on their phone, could be an important thing for our world.

Within the next five years I think we will see these social networks start to have an influence over society’s views on the outdoors. We need to create a future that we want to live in; not some future that was created by the past, while we sat back and complained. Social media and the internet has created the ability to reach more people than ever before, the exchange of ideas across the world is instant. We should harness this power for positive change.

One of my goals in life is to use my cameras to help highlight the natural beauty of the world that we must work to preserve. Sharing images online is a very powerful medium due to the number of people you can potentially reach.

Teaming up with other like-minded environmentally conscious people from around the country and around the world is going to be the way that we create the change that we wish to see in the world. Send a message to someone who is inspiring online and see if they respond, it never hurts to try!

2 thoughts on “Looking At The World Through The Eyes of Another”

Leave a Reply

